Home ยป Tinubu to Receive List of 11 Supreme Court Justice Nominees After DSS and Security Screenings

Tinubu to Receive List of 11 Supreme Court Justice Nominees After DSS and Security Screenings


The National Judicial Council (NJC) is poised to transmit the names of 11 successful candidates for the position of Supreme Court justices to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for appointment. A screening process on Tuesday shortlisted and assessed 22 priority and reserved candidates at the NJC Committee Room in Abuja.

The priority candidates include Justice Jummai Sankey, Justice Stephen Adah, Justice Mohammed Idris, Justice Abubakar Umar, Justice Chidiebere Uwa, Justice Obande Ogbuinya, Justice Ugochukwu Ogakwu, Justice Moore Adumein, and Justice Habeeb Abiru. The reserved candidates comprise Justice Muhammad Sirajo, Justice Ridwan Abdullahi, Justice Joseph Ikyegh, Justice Abubakar Talba, Justice Balkisu Aliyu, Justice Abdullahi Bayero, Justice Onyekachi Otisi, Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua, Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme, Justice Biobele Georgewill, and Justice Oyewole Kayode.

A source within the NJC revealed that the shortlisted justices underwent screening, with their names cleared by security agencies such as the Department of State Services (DSS) and the police before being presented to the NJC. The NJC is expected to conclude its plenary in the next two days, after which the ratified names of successful candidates will be promptly forwarded to President Tinubu.

The NJC adheres to guidelines specifying that the Chairman of the Judicial Service Commission/Committee creates a provisional shortlist based on merits, consisting of twice the number of intended appointments. The provisional shortlist is circulated for comments on the suitability of candidates, after which the NJC assesses each candidate through an interview, forwarding the names of successful candidates to the President.

You may also like

Leave a Comment